INNOVATIONS-LABOR

Wir unterstützen die Musikindustrie mit bahnbrechenden Audiotechnologien.

Intro

Wir sind besessen davon, uns selbst herauszufordern, um bessere, schnellere, stärkere – und präzisere – Lösungen für das, was wir tun, zu finden. Deshalb investieren wir jedes Jahr über 3 Millionen Euro in unsere interne Forschung und Entwicklung.

UNSERE PROPRIETÄREN AUDIO-TECHNOLOGIEN

Audio-Fingerprinting

Wir gleichen den Fingerabdruck jedes Audios mit indizierter Musik in unserer Datenbank ab, die eine Länge von bis zu 500 Jahren aufweist. Unsere Fingerabdrücke behalten unter allen Bedingungen – z. B. bei Unterbrechungen, Sprache und Soundeffekten – eine genaue Leistung bei, indem sie auf der Auswahl diskriminanter, robuster Ereignisse basieren. Er wird auch für die Überprüfung von Urheberrechten verwendet.

Abgleich von Metadaten

Wir gleichen die Metadaten von digitalen Vertriebsanbietern mit den internen Musikdatenbanken von Verwertungsgesellschaften ab und reichern sie mit unserer eigenen Datenbank an, um ihre Vollständigkeit zu gewährleisten. Jeden Tag liefern wir 27 Milliarden Übereinstimmungen, um sicherzustellen, dass Musikschaffende die Tantiemen erhalten, die sie verdienen.

Deep-Music-Erkennung

Mit Hilfe von Deep Learning Technologie scannen wir Audioaufnahmen, um Hinweise auf das Vorhandensein von Musik zu erkennen. Für jedes 2-Sekunden-Segment geben wir einen Wert aus, der sowohl die musikalischen als auch die gleichzeitig vorhandenen nicht-musikalischen Klänge repräsentiert.

Schätzung der Hörbarkeit

Die Hörbarkeitsabschätzung bestimmt, ob die Hintergrundmusik in einer Fernsehsendung, Show oder Werbung „hörbar“ oder „unhörbar“ ist. Die Vorgaben werden jeweils vom Auftraggeber gemacht.

Identifizierung von Überdeckungen

Wir verwenden unseren gut trainierten Algorithmus, um zu bestätigen, ob es sich bei zwei beliebigen Audiodateien um dasselbe musikalische Werk handelt – wenn sie auf einer Song-gegen-Song-Basis verarbeitet werden – oder nicht.

Analyse und Bewertung von Audioaufnahmen

Eine Audioaufnahme wird verarbeitet und bewertet. Eine Sequenz von identifizierten Noten, die der Audioaufnahme entspricht, wird durch iterative Identifizierung von potentiellen Noten innerhalb der Audioaufnahme bestimmt. Eine Bewertung für die Audioaufnahme wird anhand einer Stimmungs- und einer Ausdrucksbewertung ermittelt. Die Audioaufnahme enthält eine Aufnahme von mindestens einem Teil einer musikalischen Komposition.

Europäisches Patent auf Hörbarkeit

Es werden Verfahren und Vorrichtungen zur Abschätzung der Hörbarkeit von Audio-Samples in Audiomischungen von Rundfunkmedienprogrammen vorgeschlagen. Beispielverfahren umfassen die Schritte des Bereitstellens einer Darstellungsmatrix einer Audiomischung, wobei die Audiomischung das Audio-Sample und zusätzliches Audio umfasst, des Bereitstellens einer Darstellungsmatrix des Audio-Samples, des Subtrahierens der Darstellungsmatrix des Audio-Samples von der Darstellungsmatrix der Audiomischung, um eine Differenzmatrix zu erzeugen, des Anwendens eines Hörbarkeitsmodells auf die Differenzmatrix, um eine Hörbarkeitsmatrix zu erzeugen, des Bestimmens eines Hörbarkeitspegels für jedes Element der Hörbarkeitsmatrix und des Bildens des Durchschnitts der bestimmten Hörbarkeitspegel der Matrix, um die Hörbarkeit des Audio-Samples zu schätzen.

UNSERE PATENTE

UNSERE FORSCHUNGS- UND INNOVATIONSPROJEKTE

FuturePulse

FuturePulse – Multimodal Predictive Analytics and Recommendation Services for the Music Industry – wurde mit Mitteln aus dem Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Union unter der Fördervereinbarung Nr. 761634 gefördert

Bloomen

Bloomen – Blockchains in der neuen Ära des partizipativen Medienerlebnisses – hat eine Förderung durch das Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizon 2020 der Europäischen Union unter der Fördervereinbarung Nr. 762091 erhalten.

NextCore

Die Nationale Forschungsagentur des Ministeriums für Wissenschaft und Innovation (La Agencia Estatal de Investigación del Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación) unterstützt das Retos-Colaboración 2019 Projekt New generation of music monitoring technology (NextCore), RTC2019-007248-7.

IDENTI@RT

Identi@rt – R+D en preservació del valor d’actius digitals de música, art I disseny, amb distributed ledger tech – (COMRDI18-1-0011) von la Comunitat Media (COM18-1-0002) wird von ACCIÓ (Agència per la Competitivitat de l’Empresa, Generalitat de Catalunya) als Teil der kollaborativen Projekte für Untersuchung, Entwicklung und Innovation der Communities RIS3CAT finanziert.

LoudSense

ACCIÓ (Agència per la Competitivitat de l’Empresa, Generalitat de Catalunya) unterstützt das Projekt LoudSense – AI system for automatic audibility estimation of background music in audiovisual productions (ACE014/20/000051) im Rahmen des Calls INNOTEC 2020.

PICAE

PICAE – Publicació Intel-ligent de Continguts Audiovisuals I Editorials – (COMRDI18-1-0007) von la Comunitat Media (COM18-1-0002) wird von ACCIÓ (Agència per la Competitivitat de l’Empresa, Generalitat de Catalunya) als Teil der kollaborativen Projekte für Untersuchung, Entwicklung und Innovation der Gemeinschaften RIS3CAT finanziert.

DeepTrack

Das Ministerio de Economía y Empresa (Ministerium für Wirtschaft und Unternehmen) unterstützt die Strategische Aktion der Wirtschaft und der digitalen Gesellschaft – die Digital Enabling Technologies impulse 2019, Projekt System for real-time massive audio monitoring based on artificial intelligence (DeepTrack), TSI-100903-2019-38.

PlayIT

Das Ministerium für Industrie, Energie und Digitale Agenda (Ministerio de Energía, Turismo y Agenda Digital) unterstützt die Strategische Aktion der Wirtschaft und der Digitalen Gesellschaft – Technologischer Impuls 2017, Projekt PlayIT: Big Data BI skalierbare Engine für die Verarbeitung und Identifizierung von Musik-Metadaten – TSI-100600-2017-20). Kofinanziert durch Fondo Europeo de Desarrollo Regional (FEDER) – Der Weg zum Aufbau Europas.

Industrielle Promotionen

Die Projekte Music/Speech detection in broadcast media programs (DI46-2016) und Music identification algorithms using deep learning techniques (DI46-2020) werden durch den Industrial Doctorates Plan des Sekretariats für Universitäten und Forschung des Departamento de Empresa y Conocimiento de la Generalitat de Cataluña (Secretaría de Universidades e Investigación del Departamento de Empresa y Conocimiento de la Generalitat de Cataluña) unterstützt.

Awards

Mirex

2018 wurde unser Musikerkennungsalgorithmus bei MIREX – dem wichtigsten internationalen Wettbewerb für MIR-Algorithmen (Music Information Retrieval) – als bester Algorithmus in diesem Bereich ausgezeichnet, mit einer um 10 Prozentpunkte höheren Genauigkeit als der Algorithmus auf dem zweiten Platz. Im Jahr 2019 wurde unsere erste Position erneut bestätigt, da wir 2 neue Algorithmen vorgestellt haben und beide bessere Ergebnisse im Vergleich zu dem 2018 eingereichten Algorithmus erzielten.

Awards

Bloomen

BMAT wurde vom Innovationsradar der Europäischen Kommission als „Key Innovator“ für die Entwicklungen im H2020-Projekt Bloomen ausgezeichnet: Die Blockchain-Technologie wird für den Urheberrechtsschutz von Medieninhalten eingesetzt.

Publications

Bloomen

Kapsoulis, Nikolaos; Psychas, Alexandros; Palaiokrassas, Georgios; Marinakis, Achilleas; Litke, Antonios; Varvarigou, Theodora; Bouchlis, Charalampos; Raouzaiou, Amaryllis; Calvo, Gonçal; Escudero Subirana, Ordi. 2020. „Consortium Blockhain Smart Contracts for Musical Rights Governance in a Collective Management Organizations (CMOs) Use Case“

Zukunft Internet 12, Nr. 8: 134.

Publications

Industrielle Promotionen

Meléndex-Catalán, B. Molina, E., und Gómez, E. (2017). „BAT: ein webbasiertes Open-Source-Tool zur Annotation von Audio-Events“.

3. Web-Audio-Konferenz

Meléndex-Catalán, B. Molina, E., und Gómez, E. (2019b). „Open broadcast media audio from TV: A dataset of TV broadcast audio with relative music loudness annotations“.

Transaktionen der internationalen Gesellschaft für Musikinformations Wiedergewinnun

Meléndex-Catalán, B. Molina, E., und Gómez, E. (2020). „Relative Musik-Lautheitsschätzung unter Verwendung temporaler Faltungsnetzwerke und eines CNN-Feature-Extraktions-Frontends“.

Im Rahmen der 23. internationalen Konferenz über digitale Audioeffekte (DAFx-20), Band 5, Seiten 273-280.

UNSERE WISSENSCHAFTLICHEN VERÖFFENTLICHUNGEN UND AUSZEICHNUNGEN

Innovation Lab

Empowering the music industry with ground-breaking audio technologies.

Intro

We’re obsessed with challenging ourselves to come up with better, faster, stronger – and more accurate – solutions for what we do. That’s why we invest over 3 million euros every year in our in-house Research and Development.

Our Proprietary Audio Technologies

Audio Fingerprinting

We match the fingerprint of any audio against the 500 years worth of indexed music in our database. Our fingerprints maintain accurate performance in conditions of all types – interruptions, speech, sound effects, for example – by running on the selection of discriminative robust events. It is also used for copyrighting verification.

Metadata Matching

We match the metadata from digital sales providers with the internal music databases of collecting societies and enrich it with our own database to ensure it is complete. Every day we deliver 27 billion matches to make sure music creators receive the royalties they deserve.

Deep Music Detector

Using deep learning tech, we scan audio recordings to detect cues that show the presence of music. For every 2-second segment, we output a value to represent both the musical and the simultaneous non-musical sounds present.

Audibility Estimation

The audibility estimation determines whether the background music in a TV programme, show or advert is “audible” or “inaudible”. The specifications are given by the client in each case.

Covers Identification

We use our well-trained algorithm to confirm whether any 2 audio files are the same musical work – when processed on a song vs song basis – or not.

Audio Recording Analysis and Rating

An audio recording is processed and evaluated. A sequence of identified notes corresponding to the audio recording is determined by iteratively identifying potential notes within the audio recording. A rating for the audio recording is determined using a tuning rating and an expression rating. The audio recording includes a recording of at least a portion of a musical composition.

European Patent on Audibility

Methods and devices for estimating audibility of audio samples in audio mixes of broadcast media programs are proposed. Example methods comprise the steps of providing a representation matrix of an audio mix, the audio mix comprising the audio sample and additional audio, providing a representation matrix of the audio sample, subtracting the representation matrix of the audio sample from representation matrix of the audio mix to generate a difference matrix, applying an audibility model to the difference matrix to generate an audibility matrix, determining an audibility level for each element of the audibility matrix, and averaging the determined audibility levels of the matrix to estimate the audibility of the audio sample.

Our patents

Our Research And Innovation Projects

FuturePulse

FuturePulse – Multimodal Predictive Analytics and Recommendation Services for the Music Industry – has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No. 761634

Bloomen

Bloomen – Blockchains in the new era of participatory media experience has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No. 762091.

NextCore

The National Research National Agency of the Ministry of Science and Innovation (La Agencia Estatal de Investigación del Ministerio de Ciencia e Innovación) supports the Retos-Colaboración 2019 project New generation of music monitoring technology (NextCore), RTC2019-007248-7.

IDENTI@RT

Identi@rt – R+D en preservació del valor d’actius digitals de música, art I disseny, amb distributed ledger tech – (COMRDI18-1-0011) of la Comunitat Media (COM18-1-0002) is financed by ACCIÓ (Agència per la Competitivitat de l’Empresa, Generalitat de Catalunya) as part of the collaborative projects for investigation, development and innovation of the Communities RIS3CAT.

LoudSense

ACCIÓ (Agència per la Competitivitat de l’Empresa, Generalitat de Catalunya) supports the project LoudSense – AI system for automatic audibility estimation of background music in audiovisual productions (ACE014/20/000051) as part of the call INNOTEC 2020.

PICAE

PICAE – Publicació Intel·ligent de Continguts Audiovisuals I Editorials – (COMRDI18-1-0007) of la Comunitat Media (COM18-1-0002) is financed by ACCIÓ (Agència per la Competitivitat de l’Empresa, Generalitat de Catalunya) as part of the collaborative projects for investigation, development and innovation of the Communities RIS3CAT.

DeepTrack

Ministerio de Economía y Empresa (Ministry of Economy and Enterprise) supports the Strategic Action of Economy and Digital Society – the Digital Enabling Technologies impulse 2019, project System for real-time massive audio monitoring based on artificial intelligence (DeepTrack), TSI-100903-2019-38.

PlayIT

Ministry of Industry, Energy and Digital Agenda (Ministerio de Energía, Turismo y Agenda Digital) supports the Strategic Action of Economy and Digital Society – Technological Impulse 2017, Project PlayIT: Big Data BI scalable engine for the process and identification of music metadata – TSI-100600-2017-20). Co-funded by Fondo Europeo de Desarrollo Regional (FEDER) – The way to build Europe.

Industrial Doctorates

The projects Music/Speech detection in broadcast media programs (DI46-2016) and Music identification algorithms using deep learning techniques (DI46-2020) are supported by the Industrial Doctorates plan of the Secretary of Universities and Investigation of the Department of Companies and knowledge of the Catalonia Generalitat (Secretaría de Universidades e Investigación del Departamento de Empresa y Conocimiento de la Generalitat de Cataluña).

Awards

Mirex

In 2018, MIREX -the most important international competition of MIR (Music Information Retrieval) algorithms- recognised our music detection algorithm as the best in the field, with accuracy 10 percentage points higher than the algorithm in second place. In 2019, our first position was reestablished as we presented 2 new algorithms and they both obtained better results in comparison to the algorithm submitted in 2018.

Awards

Bloomen

BMAT was appointed as ‘Key Innovator’ by the European Commission’s Innovation Radar for the developments in the H2020 Bloomen project: Blockchain technology will be used to provide copyright protection of media content.

Publications

Bloomen

Kapsoulis, Nikolaos; Psychas, Alexandros; Palaiokrassas, Georgios; Marinakis, Achilleas; Litke, Antonios; Varvarigou, Theodora; Bouchlis, Charalampos; Raouzaiou, Amaryllis; Calvo, Gonçal; Escudero Subirana, Ordi. 2020. Consortium Blockhain Smart Contracts for Musical Rights Governance in a Collective Management Organizations (CMOs) Use Case

Future internet 12, no. 8: 134.

Publications

Industrial Doctorates

Meléndez-Catalán, B. Molina, E., and Gómez, E. (2017). BAT: an open-source web-based audio-events annotation tool“.

3rd Web Audio Conference

Meléndez-Catalán, B. Molina, E., and Gómez, E. (2019b). Open broadcast media audio from TV: A dataset of TV broadcast audio with relative music loudness annotations“.

Transactions of the International Society for Music Information Retrieval

Meléndex-Catalán, B. Molina, E., and Gómez, E. (2020). Relative music loudness estimation, using temporal convolutional networks and a CNN feature extraction front-end“.

In Proceedings of the 23rd International Conference on Digital Audio Effects (DAFx-20), volume 5, pages 273-280.

Our Scientific Publicactions and Awards